skip to primary navigationskip to content

Composites and Coatings Group

Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy

Studying at Cambridge

 

Past Group Members

Listed below are people who have completed PhD studentships (currently ~70) and/or post-doctoral (or visiting) fellowships (of at least 12 months duration) within the Composites and Coatings Group, since its creation in 1985 (when Bill Clyne returned to Cambridge).  The list is sorted by starting date.  Also supplied, where available, are current e-mail addresses and affiliations, linked in some cases to homepage URLs.  Of course, some information may be outdated and some is still missing.  Any updating would be welcome (directed to twc10@cam.ac.uk and copied to jd362@cam.ac.uk).

Forename Surname Start date End date e-mail Affiliation
Chris Stanford-Beale (PhD) Oct-85 Jan-89 chris.stanford-beale@analysysmason.com Analysys Mason, Cambridge
Rob Kieschke (PhD) Oct-86 Mar-90 rrkieschke@mmm.com  3M, Minneapolis
Marcus Warwick (PhD) Oct-86 Dec-90 marcus.warwick@twi.co.uk TWI, Cambridge
Steve Gill (PhD) Oct-87 Jun-93 stephen.gill@mewburn.com
hislop.gill@ntlworld.com 
Mewburn Ellis, Cambridge
John Mason (PhD) Oct-87 Dec-90 j.mason@swan.ac.uk
JMason@woodseaves.swinternet.co.uk
Swansea U.
Ravi Shahani (PhD) Oct-87 Aug-91 ravi.shahani@constellium.com Constellium, Grenoble
Seiji Kuroda Oct-88 Sep-89 KURODA.Seiji@nims.go.jp  NIMS, Tsukuba
Justin Furness (PhD) Oct-88 Dec-91 justin.furness@c-a-b.org.uk Council for Aluminium in Building, Glos.
Andy Reeves (PhD) Oct-88 Mar-92 areeves@wyman-uk.com  Wyman Gordon, Livingston
Karl Schulte Jan-89 Dec-89 schulte@tu-harburg.de  TU Hamburg-Harburg
Simon Howard (PhD) Oct-89 Feb-96 simon.howard@british-energy.com  British Energy, Gloucester
Andy Kennedy (PhD) Oct-89 Feb-93 andrew.kennedy@nottingham.ac.uk Nottingham U.
Michelle Watson (PhD) Oct-89 Sep-92 mcwatson10@gmail.com Sustainable Event Certification, Berkshire
Duncan Clark (PhD) Oct-90 Mar-94 duncanclark@dongenergy.co.uk Dong Energy, London
Peter Dearnley Oct-90 Sep-92 peter_dearnley@talktalk.net Southampton U.
Fay Austen (nee Gordon) (PhD) Oct-90 May-94 fay.gordon@orange.co.uk  Orange, Bristol
Andy Phillips (PhD) Oct-90 Nov-95 andyphillipps@googlemail.com ActiveBooking, Cambridge
Anne Whitehouse (PhD) Oct-90 Dec-93 annew14@mac.com
anne.whitehouse@ntlworld.com 
Theta Healing, Leicester
Lalitesh Chandra (PhD) Oct-91 Mar-95 Lalitesh.Chandra@Unilever.Com Unilever, Port Sunlight
David Ramm (PhD) Oct-91 Jan-95 dramm@morganlewis.com Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Ricky Tsui (PhD) Oct-92 Sep-98 ricky.tsui@arup.com Ove Arup, Hong Kong
Alison Howard (née Kalton) (PhD) Jan-93 Jan-97 afhoward@wsatkins.co.uk  WS Atkins, Bristol
Pascal Feillard Oct-93 Sep-94 feillard@mpsa.com
feillard@calva.net
PSA Peugeot-Citroen
Akira Itoh (PhD) Oct-93 Apr-97    
Angela Robson (nee Murphy)  (PhD) Oct-93 Jun-97 Angela.Murphy@unilever.com Unilever, Port Sunlight
Spyros Pateras (PhD) Oct-93 Feb-97 istria@ath.forthnet.gr  Istria General Consulting, Athens 
Saiful Khan (PhD) Oct-94 Dec-97 drmsakhan@hotmail.com
saiful.khan@potterclarkson.com
Potter Clarkson LLP, Nottingham
Tom Matthams (PhD) Oct-94 Sep-04 tjm16@cam.ac.uk Cambridge U.
Mike Shaw Oct-94 Sep-96 mcshaw@callutheran.edu California Lutheran U.
Jonathan Spowart (PhD) Jan-95 Dec-97 Jonathan.Spowart@us.af.mil  Wright-Patterson AFB
Ken Cheng (PhD) Oct-95 Apr-99 c_f_cheng@hotmail.com Siemens, Taiwan
Alice Fox (PhD) Oct-95 Nov-98 afox@angloamerican.co.uk Anglo American, London
Xilin Peng (PhD) Oct-95 Jul-98 Xilin.Peng@seagate.com  Seagate, Minneapolis
Katherine Chivers (PhD) Oct-96 Mar-00 katharine.chivers@british-energy.com British Energy
Colin Creighton (PhD) Oct-96 Jun-01 ccreighton@hexcel-eu.com Hexcel Composites, Cambridge
Francis Delannay Oct-96 Sep-97 francis.delannay@uclouvain.be Louvain U.
Vlado Gergely (PhD) Oct-96 Mar-02 vlado.gergely@creganna.com
v.gergely.96@cantab.net 
Creganna Medical Devices, Galway
Dan Miracle Oct-96 Sep-97 daniel.miracle@us.af.mil Wright-Patterson AFB
Joe Thompson (PhD) Oct-96 Feb-00 Joe.Thompson@fly.virgin.com Virgin Atlantic
Athina Markaki (PhD) Jan-97 Sep-05 am253@cam.ac.uk Cambridge U.
Steve Clifford (PhD) Oct-98 Feb-01 stephen.clifford@ch.abb.com ABB, Zurich
Katy Voisey (PhD) Oct-98 Jun-02 katy.voisey@nottingham.ac.uk Nottingham U.
Debdulal Roy (PhD) Apr-99 Jul-05 debdulal.roy@npl.co.uk  NPL, London
Thomas Klocker (PhD) Oct-99 Nov-02 T.Klocker.99@cantab.net   
Allesandra Orsoni Jan-00 Oct-01 A.Orsoni@kingston.ac.uk Kingston Business School
Young-Ho Seo Feb-00 Jan-01 yhseo@dit.ac.kr Dong-Eui Institute of Technology, Korea
Dave Curran (PhD) Oct-00 Jan-04 david.curran@dti.gsi.gov.uk Dept. of Energy & Climate Change, London
Russell Goodall (PhD) Oct-00 Dec-03 r.goodall@sheffield.ac.uk Sheffield U.
Oona Gingu Jan-01 Dec-01 ginguco@yahoo.com  Craiova U., Romania
Igor Golosnoy Jan-01 Sep-07 ig@ecs.soton.ac.uk Southampton U.
Jin-Chong Tan (PhD) Oct-01 Sep-o8 jin-chong.tan@eng.ox.ac.uk Oxford University
Tom Illingworth (PhD) Oct-01 Jul-05 T.Illingworth@lek.com  LEK Consulting LLP, London
Andrew Lynn Oct-01 Sep-02 andrew.k.lynn@orthomimetics.com Judge Business School, Cambridge
Sofia Tsipas (PhD) Oct-01 May-05 sofia.tsipas@quim.ucm.es  Madrid U. (Carlos III)
Andy Cockburn (PhD) Oct-02 Nov-06 ac282@cam.ac.uk IfM, Cambridge U.
James Curran (PhD) Oct-02 Sep-13 james_curran@apple.com Apple Corporation, Cupertino
Martin Landert (PhD) Oct-02 Sep-06 landert@cantab.net
martinl@SIMTech.a-star.edu.sg
A*STAR, Singapore
Jamie Muir Wood (PhD) Oct-02 Jan-06 jamie.muir.wood@kccla.org.uk King's College Construction Law Association
Shiladitya Paul (PhD) Oct-03 Sep-07 shiladitya.paul@twi.co.uk TWI, Cambridge
Katerina Plati (PhD) Oct-03 Sep-07   Ministry of Labour, Cyprus
Chris Shortall (PhD) Oct-03 Sep-07 chrisshortall@tessella.com Tessella Software, Malborough
Upadastra Ramamurty Jan-04 Dec-04 ramu@materials.iisc.ernet.in IIS Bangalore
Mareike Zink Jan-04 Dec-04 m_zink@web.de
zink@physik.uni-leipzig.de
Leipzig U.
Amaia Cipitria (PhD) Oct-04 May-08 amaia.cipitria@gmail.com
amaia.cipitria@charite.de
Berlin U.
Hande Kalkanci Jan-05 Dec-05 hkalkanci@sakarya.edu.tr Imperial College
Julien Paillard (PhD) Oct-05 Sep-09   Acuity Risk Management
Jeff Wheeler (PhD) Oct-05 Feb-09 jeffrey.wheeler@gmail.com
Jeffrey.Wheeler@empa.ch
EMPA, Thun
Chris Dunleavy (PhD) Oct-06 Sep-13 christopher.dunleavy@cantab.net
cdunleavy@vennershipley.co.uk
Venner Shipley LLP, Cambridge
Helen Robinson (née Griffiths) (PhD) Oct-06 Sep-09 HelenRobinson@cantab.net
helen.robinson@burgoynes.com 
Burgoynes, London
Peter Brown Oct-07 Sep-08 PMBROWN@dstl.gov.uk DSTL, Aldermaston
Andy Collier (PhD) Oct-07 May-11    
Sonya Pemberton (PhD) Oct-08 Sep-12 sonya.pemberton@amecfw.com Amec Foster Wheeler, Warrington
Jorge Sobral (PhD) Oct-08 Jul-12 jorgemcsobral@gmail.com Granta Design, Cambridge
Liza Mirelman (PhD) Oct-09 Aug-13 l.mirelman@ucl.ac.uk UCL
Erika Öberg (PhD) Oct-09 Sep-13 oberg.erika@gmail.com BSN Medical, Hamburg
Maya Shinozaki (PhD) Oct-09 Aug-13 Maya.Shinozaki@arup.com Arup, London
Ming-Chee Chung (PhD) Oct-10 Feb-14 mcc54@cam.ac.uk  
Veronica Su (PhD) Oct-10 Nov-13 Veronica.Su@hovo.co.uk
veronsu@gmail.com
Hollingsworth & Vose, Gloucester
Karen Cheung Jan-11 Dec-12 Karen.cheung@hkgbc.org.hk Hong Kong Green Building Council
Dimitris Tsarouchas Jan-11 Sep-12   Boston Consulting Group